View Thread

Closing soon: Nominations for PNP Best Book Award

  • 1.  Closing soon: Nominations for PNP Best Book Award

    Posted 02-18-2024 00:16

    Dear Colleagues,

    The Best Book Award Selection Committee for the Public and Nonprofit Division of the Academy of Management is requesting nominations for the Division's 2024 Best Book Award. Books nominated should have publications dates of 2021, 2022, or 2023.

    Members of the Public and Nonprofit Division pay special attention to how distinctive qualities of the public and nonprofit sectors influence management and organizational processes. Books nominated for the Award should significantly contribute to modern management theory and/or practice and address issues within the Public and Nonprofit Division's domain of interest. Author membership in the Division or the Academy of Management is not a criterion in the award process.

    Because of the interest in the substantive intellectual contribution of the book, nominations of textbooks, edited collections, or books of previously published papers are discouraged. The winning author(s) will receive a plaque recognizing the award.

    The best book will received an award of $500 (USD).

    Nominations for the award should include the author's name, book title, publisher, date of publication, and short paragraph supporting the nomination. Self-nomination is allowed. Nominations are due February 29, 2024.

    Nominations should be sent to the committee chair, Janine O'Flynn at Committee member addresses will be provided to those submitting nominations to arrange for copies to be sent to all members of the committee.

    Members of the Committee for 2024:

    • Professor Catherine Althaus (nominee PNP Best Book Award) 
    • Professor Wolfgang Drechsler, Ranger Nurske Department of Innovation and Goverannce, Tallin University of Technology (winner 2023 George R. Terry Best Book Award)
    • Professor Pamela Herd, McCourt School, Georgetown University (winner 2020 PNP Best Book Award)
    • Associate Professor Akshay Mangla, Said Business School, University of Oxford (winner PNP 2023 Best Book Award)
    • Professor Janine O'Flynn (Chair) (winner 2014 PNP Best Book Award)

    Janine O'Flynn
    Director, Crawford School of Public Policy
    Australian National University
    Canberra, Australia