View Thread

IHRM Webinar on Adjustment Reimagined! w/Shaffer & Dimitrova

  • 1.  IHRM Webinar on Adjustment Reimagined! w/Shaffer & Dimitrova

    Posted 24 days ago
    (With apologies for cross-postings, I am thrilled to announce this IHRM Webinar next Thursday!)

    Webinar banner

    Adjustment Reimagined!

    Expatriate adjustment has been extensively studied in the international business literature over the last 3 decades, and several reviews and meta-analyses have provided many good insights about this topic. Because of this progress, some scholars have suggested moving away from adjustment and focusing on other expatriate experiences. In this webinar, we argue for continued research on adjustment but from a reimagined perspective. After briefly reviewing what we currently know about adjustment, we will discuss opportunities for additional work in this area with implications not only for international HRM scholarship but also for the broader organizational behavior and management literature.


    Date:

    Thursday, November 17, 2022

    Time:

    8:30 – 9:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco, Seattle, Vancouver)

    11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EST (Boston, New York, Miami)

    4:30 – 5:30 p.m. GMT (United Kingdom)

    5:30 – 6:30 p.m. CET (Vienna, Berlin, Paris, Zagreb)

    7:30 – 8:30 p.m. TRT, MSK (Istanbul, Moscow)

    12:30 - 1:30 a.m. CST – November 18 (Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Taipei)

    1:30 – 2:30 a.m. JST – November 18 (Tokyo, Kyoto) 

    3:30 – 4:30 a.m. AEDT (Melbourne, Sydney)
    4:30 – 5:30 p.m. UCT 


    Use this Time Zone Converter to find your local time.

    As an international partnership, the IHRM series welcomes speakers from all over the world and multiple time zones. This session will be recorded to share with registrants who are not able to attend the live session.

    Registration:

    The event is free and open to anyone who is interested, but you must register to receive the link for attending. The link will be emailed to you 24 hours before the event. Click here to register online with Eventbrite

    Inquiries:

    beedie-events@sfu.ca

    The Panelists

    Margaret A. Shaffer is the Michael F. Price Chair and Professor of International Business at the Price College of Business, The University of Oklahoma. Her research interests stem from her own experiences as an expatriate in Hong Kong. In general, her research focus is on understanding the experiences of globally mobile employees, with an emphasis on various types of global employees, global careers, and the work-life interface. Her publications have appeared in journals such as the Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Journal, Journal of Applied Psychology, Personnel Psychology, Journal of Management, and Journal of International Business Studies. She is an associate editor for the Journal of Global Mobility.

    Mihaela Dimitrova is Associate Professor at the Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU Vienna). Her research interests center around global work experiences. In particular, her focus is on the management of global employees, cross-cultural management as well as employee thriving in international environments. Her research has been published in the Journal of Organizational Behavior, Journal of International Business Studies, Journal of World Business, and Human Relations, among others. 

    This session will be moderated by Mila Lazarova, Professor of International Business at SFU Beedie School of Business, Canada.

    About the Series

    This event is part of an IHRM Webinar Series, organized by the Centre for Global Workforce Strategy at Simon Fraser University (Canada), the Center for International Human Resource Studies at the Pennsylvania State University (USA), Pennsylvania Western University (USA), ESCP Business School and RIT Croatia (Europe).

    Previous installments of the IHRM Webinar Series are available online at our YouTube Channel.


    Beedie School of Business | 500 Granville St., Vancouver, BC V6C 1W6



    ------------------------------
    Miguel R. Olivas-Lujan, Ph.D.
    Professor & former Chair, Management & Marketing dept.
    Pennsylvania Western U.; Clarion, PA USA 16214
    Senior Editor, Advanced Series in Management
    Email: molivas@pennwest.edu
    ------------------------------